Culture

Posted: 17/06/2016 in Big Fashion, Freedom, Insight, ONE planet
Tags:

Cultures differ throughout the world, and often have conditioning attached to them in terms of nationalism and cultural chauvinism. This of course is separation, one is better than another, and is contrary to the natural unity that is Gaia – One Planet and its Peoples. Culture and chauvinism at its worse leads to war, or if not are cultivated by those who see wars for profits – the 1%. Because mature people must live somewhere, they live amidst culture but they “float” around these cultures as outsiders, some socially accepted and others not.

Mature people can influence culture. As a group creative people exert a positive influence on culture, but unfortunately that impact is controlled by profit through the publishing companies so this lessens what could be a positive influence by censoring certain materials based on the profit motive. Spiritually mature people can also impact culture. In the US Eckhart Tolle through Oprah Winfrey’s influence has had mainstream access enabled, in studying the New Earth his work must have influenced many. This of course has not led to a cultural revolution in the US because the tide of conditioning easily reverses positive steps he takes, but he must have changed individuals.

Spiritually mature people of course gravitate to religion, but as institutions they have been controlled for a long time. Religions rely on money to survive, and there is usually some kind of political interference caveat with regards to charitable donations. Or alternatively rich donors are courted by the leaders of religions so newly awakened people attracted to the religions are often quelled by the religious leaders themselves in favour of maintaining the religious infrastructure.

Mature people are often attracted to compassionate professions so these are always underfunded and repressively maintained – for one example see Matriellez on education.

Mature people are not usually leaders because they would have to compromise too much to become leaders. And so they “float” having an impact wherever they go, but then having the tide of conditioning squash beneficial interactions. They are loners, maybe even active within communities at times but loners maintaining their integrity outside of all the conditioning. But they can be seen – respect insight, look for insight, value insight, try to relate to insight. If you develop a sense that seeks insight you will see this maturity around you.

So mature people exist within this sea of instinct and conditioning but their insight isolates them – in some way detaches them from the pressures to conform to adolescence. It is necessary to see this culture for what it is and in doing that the potential for detachment is enabled. At birth there are instincts to help us survive, without these instincts the baby dies as it cannot be independent. This baby needs food etc, this is instinct. And the mother provides – instinct, the mother protects – instinct, less involved the father also protects – instinct. The community protects, even if people are on the repressive right side of the pro-life debate it is still their instinct to preserve the life of babies that is placing them within this erroneous position. So at a time when we cannot provide for ourselves nature provides through instinct.

The other part of survival that nature impacts is of course procreation. In our teens sexual desires develop, and eventually those desires lead to intercourse, relationship and birth. From there the maternal instinct kicks in and to a lesser extent the paternal instinct also helps. The level of instinct differs with individuals but they are hot-wired into our being and exerts some form of control within us throughout adolescent lives. Throughout all of this nature-defined instinctive process there is culture, conditioning applied to this instinct. And it is this aspect of culture that leads to all the oppression including that of women that I am investigating through consideration of feminism.

Through travel I have observed different cultures, I now live outside my own culture. But there is only one culture I know, British middle-class culture – my upbringing and the first half of my adult life. As I travelled for 14 years I saw different cultures but was never a part of them. And now that I am retired I do not know the culture I am in because I don’t speak the language and because I am not Thai – so I am still observing. To know a culture I must be inside it, and that is why I will always be a English middle-class white male no matter how much of the conditioning I unlearn. Typically for some inane reason I still follow Manchester United – part of my culture, when I watch a game it seems to matter whether they win – why? I even care whether England win yet socio-politically I reject what England stands for. Conditioning. I don’t really know manhood yet this football thing is still there, a part of my culture that I have clung to.

I want to offer a view of the instinct and conditioning that is the culture I came from. In doing this I am presenting a framework, a cultural infrastructure of development to allow for some analysis. This infrastructure has to be personal, no matter how much I would like to see detachment in it. Once developed I hope to consider culture and maturity with regards to female oppression.

As a teacher I observed many teenage girls. To watch their pre-occupation with their appearance, to watch the peer conformity requiring boy fixations made absolutely no human sense but it happened. Boys’ conditioning, what Jane calls manhood, did not seem to have the same sense of imposition – of engulfment. Intellectual achievement seemed to offer some escape but it always seemed to me that the conditioning on women happened despite the possible intellectual escape. When Jane describes an emptiness in her adolescence I can see it as the girls I saw grow receding into a pre-occupation with appearance. Before I looked into Karen Carpenter and then looked into Jane and eating disorders I had never correlated it with the conditioning. Because of our appalling diets I saw fatness as an issue of health but it is also a rejection of the appalling conditioned preoccupation with appearance. Whilst manhood has some preoccupation with appearance (eg abs and sixpack) it is not all inclusive. For men their chauvinism breeds pecking order and violence, an horrific aspect of their conditioning.

In a boys’ grammar school I never grew up with girls, my contact was very limited as I also consider myself empty at that time; this led to an extreme lack of confidence. As a teacher observing, boys and girls rarely mixed; maybe if someone was academic they were asked – irrespective of gender. It was separate by choice (or conditioning) no matter what the racial or religious mix.

Culture imposed itself on the children no matter where I was, and that culture was always different for boys and girls. And for girls, appearance and relationship was always prevalent. With regards to mature women I have met this was not the case, and mature women whilst seeking the right of independence of women were not always avowed feminists.

I consider this issue of appearance as a mixture of instinct and conditioning. As a heterosexual male I was attracted to pretty women, the first attraction was always physical – always appearance. Sexual excitement also occurred with women who I found attractive although the sexual act does not require that attraction. That attraction however is conditioning, I need to consider what that attraction is and was to help unlearning the conditioning. I suspect what male attraction is about is very much a part of the conditioned appearance for women.

The more I think about attraction and appearance, the more I see an understanding of conditioning.

Books:- Treatise, Wai Zandtao Scifi, Matriellez Education.

Blogs:- Ginsukapaapdee, Matriellez.

Leave a Reply

