The Study Path and Meditation

Posted: 13/11/2015 in Meditation
Tags: , ,

point1WARNING 27/2/16

At the time of discussion of “The Two Paths” I was attempting to accommodate an intellectual Path; even whilst doing so I was uncomfortable with it. I tried to focus on the “shift” as described by HHDL but the intellect I was discussing with did not engage with the word – presumably because it was a non-intellectual process. Now that I have accepted mu it is clear that what I am aiming for is beyond intellect, and this whole rationalising of “Two Paths” was just an engagement with intellect. I am keeping this series of discussions on Two Paths on my blog as a warning as to how much the intellect can drag you in the wrong direction.

********************

“If you are serious about Dharma practice, it is important to cultivate a good understanding of the teachings. First of all, it is important to read the texts. The more texts you read – the more you expand the scope of your learning and reading – the greater the resource you will find for your own understanding and practice. When, as a result of deep study and contemplation on what you have learned as related to your personal understanding, you reach a point on each topic when you have developed a deep conviction that this is how it is, that‘s an indication you have attained what is called understanding, derived through contemplation or reflection. Before that, all your understanding will have been intellectual understanding, but at that point it shifts. Then you have to cultivate familiarity, make it into part of your daily habit. The more you cultivate familiarity, the more it will become experiential.”
Dalai Lama, The Middle Way: Faith Grounded in Reason

This is the model I am using for the Study Path.

It is a major concession on my part to consider intellectual understanding as part of a Path but that doesn’t make my assessment of the intellectual ego invalid. The intellectual ego is so divisive. This ego is not tolerant, and insists that all accept its way; such a dangerous weapon.

Nature has given us a tool to control this ego – meditation. Having had battles with my own intellect I know how important meditation is to me to maintain control, and that is on a Path which does not see intellectual understanding as part. In fact in many ways connecting the words intellectual and understanding for me seems inappropriate. One aspect of the tool, intellect, is that it enables ideas to be held in the mind to be examined; this of course is not understanding but the intellect will always want to delude you that it is. In my view HHDL’s Path requires a great amount of meditation, something he does – I believe I read he sits for 4 hours a day.

There is another interesting observation. Minds dominated by the intellect find it difficult to meditate, typically “meditation does nothing for me”. I conclude without any real justification an incompatibility, maybe it is just incompatibility with an ego that is intellectual. I certainly conclude that someone on the study Path cannot let meditation go.

I broke down the Study Path into 6 stages:-

• Deep study
• Contemplation or reflection
• Deep conviction that this how it is – these first 3 are intellectual
• Shifting
• Cultivating familiarity
• Experiential understanding

I have not received any explanation how this connects with Insight despite highlighting its importance – as I saw it.

This Study Path is a Path I must tolerate as yet I do not understand how it can be a genuine Path without Insight. Where is the awakening in it? My yardstick!!!

Books:- Treatise, Wai Zandtao Scifi, Matriellez Education.

Blogs:- Ginsukapaapdee, Matriellez.

Comments
  1. zandtao says:

    There is analytic or discerning meditation. This is a Tibetan approach and is likely to be consistent with the HHDL quote. Must look into it.

  2. […] an intellectual Path; even whilst doing so I was uncomfortable with it. I tried to focus on the “shift” as described by HHDL but the intellect I was discussing with did not engage with the word – presumably because it […]

  3. […] an intellectual Path; even whilst doing so I was uncomfortable with it. I tried to focus on the “shift” as described by HHDL but the intellect I was discussing with did not engage with the word – presumably because it […]

  4. […] an intellectual Path; even whilst doing so I was uncomfortable with it. I tried to focus on the “shift” as described by HHDL but the intellect I was discussing with did not engage with the word – presumably because it […]

  5. […] an intellectual Path; even whilst doing so I was uncomfortable with it. I tried to focus on the “shift” as described by HHDL but the intellect I was discussing with did not engage with the word – presumably because it […]

Leave a Reply

