Brain and Mind

Posted: 06/05/2014 in Science
Tags:


There will be a series of blogs concerning the brain and meditation, I am basically doing this because it is relevant to The Arico Chronicles – see Wai Zandtao scifi below.

As a meditator I look inside and try to understand mind. Usually I follow a Buddhist view of mind, the 5 khandas etc. – see Buddhadasa page, and I get quite irate about science’s failure to draw a distinction between brain and mind. Instead science tries to justify mental activity as stemming from the brain. As a meditator I look at my mind and see it throughout my body depending on how I focus or how much I have lost control of it. I probably go too far the other way in dismissing the brain as having anything other than a cursory involvement in mental activity. Buddhism talks of 6 senses – 5 senses and mind, it does not say 5 senses and brain. I tend to associate the functioning of the 5 senses with the brain, the brain being a “cpu” for sensual activity.

I further note that it is western science that identifies brain and mind. If you ask a Thai where is your mind they point to the heart. I don’t agree with that either but have much more sympathy with it.

I further knock the brain thing because of reason. Western science too much identifies reason and mind, I think mind has little to do with reason. We have western stuff – right side and left side, the crass simplicity of Jill Bolte Taylor etc.

I pre-empt a little for Arico. If a machine can measure in the end it can be miniaturised and implanted. In my view it will happen. At the moment phones are being used to get cash in Japan. Implant bank details, place your hand on a chip reader, and you can get your money. Presently what is recorded on ID cards is going through the human rights ringer, and there appears to be some control of the 1%. Given time when they have the subcutaneous technology to store all data – money, tax, crime, family, etc., it will be done. And there will be a kill switch. If it can be measured it will be measured and NSA ed, and not just metadata.

How can Nature with True people fight it – ask Arico.

Books:- Treatise, Wai Zandtao Scifi, Matriellez Education.

Blogs:- Ginsukapaapdee, Matriellez.

Leave a Reply

