Doris Lessing

Posted: 31/01/2014 in Insight


Doris Lessing died on the 17th November last year; she was, and still is, my favourite author. When I was still teaching in London term-time was full of booze but somewhere inside of me the spirit emerged during the Summer holidays. Part of those holidays was walking but a most significant part when I wasn’t writing (ie most of the time) was reading. Two Summers of reading were Doris Lessing. I can’t remember what I read the first year but I know it included some of Martha Quest, the second year was the Shikasta books. I would love to read Shikasta again but I start and then stop; maybe reading them would coincide in a serious effort towards novel-writing again. And I must also mention African Laughter which I read when living in Botswana, it was a great perspective. She will have much to offer to all even in her death. Try these 31 Doris Lessing books.

Here is a Guardian podcast, and here is a webpage about her. Here, Web of Stories, are a load of video clips of her.

Books:- Treatise, Wai Zandtao Scifi, Matriellez Education.

Blogs:- Ginsukapaapdee, Mandtao, Matriellez.

Leave a Reply

