Michael Parenti

Posted: 02/01/2012 in Struggle

This is Michael Parenti on capitalism. I listened to this talk about capitalism and felt that he included everything in a clear talk, and was impressed.

I was then drawn to his discussion on Tibet. He describes the religious oligarchy that China used as an excuse to invade. As far as I know his analysis is reasonably accurate although it completely ignores the desires of the Tibetan people. And that is the point with China, the Tibetan people wanted Tibet the way it was – at least I think that was so from my visit there. So the class analysis is not as important as what the people want. But I have less of a problem with Michael Parenti on missing this point than for making an appearance on the programme where they then went on with some outlandish accusations.

This makes me question where Michael Parenti is coming from and question his integrity, but his analysis is not lacking in the clip on capitalism I uploaded.

Comments
  1. […] There is no doubts in my mind that all three should be heritage sites, I visited Potala Palace and Noorblinka as well. China saw Tibet as a religious oligarchy, there is no doubt in my mind that the religion demeaned people. It was a common practice for people to crawl on their hands and knees across hundreds of kilometres to reach Potala Palace. From the outside it would appear that the religious oligarchy was exploiting the people, but for me the significant reality is tthat the people believed in the Dalai Lama and Tibetan Buddhism, whatever they did was by choice. One can always argue about choice and indoctrination but I have no doubts at all about saying that the Tibetan people chose their Buddhism and western people are indoctrinated into accepting capitalism. This choice was so painfully obvious I completely dispute this academic picture presented by Michael Parenti. […]

Leave a Reply

