Earthlings – so inhumane

Posted: 05/08/2011 in Big Food, Big Pharma, Health

Watch this movie, Earthlings, this is just so wrong.

I don’t know how to put all of this into perspective. Let me try a few things. Who were the greenest people on the planet? Maybe, Apartheid-era White South Africans. They had turned their hearts off to the sufferings of the black people because they couldn’t fight their system so they became very caring about ecology. It is not what they were doing that was wrong, it was what they were not doing for black people..

There is a film we all need to watch about our food, Food Inc, but I don’t usually get into Animals Rights issues. When there are so many people suffering in the world, what are we doing for them? Our war-like economic strategy has killed more than a million Iraqis …. and we have Animals Rights’ Activists! It doesn’t make sense to me. But the actions in this film are just so inhumane. The way the people behave towards these animals is just so inhumane.

But the trouble is I just don’t know. I don’t eat meat but don’t see an issue with free-range meat. How do these farmers kill their cows? How inhumane would that appear in a movie?

I was trying to sense a stance on how much animals suffer and the movie does not make a stance clear – I think. Animals must feel some pain but how much and in what way? Animal Rights’ Actvivists tend to infer almost human capacity to pain, I don’t feel that is the case. But in the movie our institutions had turned those working there into being completely callous and inhumane. I am sure those people are covered by protective legislation, and organic farmers would be attacked; but what is a fair way?

Comments
  1. […] And what am I avoiding? Big Food. To understand why watch Food Inc – this movie is far more eloquent then I am – Earthlings also shows how we treat animals but it does not directly relate it to our health – see blog entry. […]

Leave a Reply

